Greeting

Standard

At this time I will discuss about greeting. As we know, when we first meet with the new person, then automatically we will ask for her/his name, where she/he came from, a job, a place to stay this time, and others. then to ask those things we usually use the expressions of greeting.


speakingg


Example :

  • What’s your name? My name is/ I’m…

  • Where do you come from? I come from..

  • Where are you from? I am from…

  • Where do you live? I live in…

  • What do you do? I am English Student.

  • Where do you go to school? I go to school at STKIP Pasundan majoring in English Education study program/ I study at STKIP Pasundan majoring in English Education study program.

In answering the question, then the answer sentence structure that we provide must correspond to the question sentence. As the sentence above, when there is the question “where do you come from?” then answered “I come from …”, but when there is the question “where are you from?” Then answered must use to be too “I am from…”.

Model Conversation :

A : I don’t think we’ve met. My name is Richard.

B : Hello. I’m Emma. Pleased to meet you.

A : Pleased to meet you, too. Where are you from?

B : Australia. How about you?

A : I’m from England.

Useful responses when introducing yourself or other people :

  • Nice to meet you

  • Pleased to meet you

  • Happy to meet you

  • How do you do

That is a discussion of the example expressions greeting, greeting responses, and examples of the conversation. Hopefully we can both take lessons from my article this time. Thank you for visiting. and do not forget to share and comment. See you at the next article.

For see the video click here

Material by : Mr. Wawa Puja Prabawa, SS., M.Si.

Leave a Reply

